How to prepare for a wedding + A little Engagement love in Saskatoon!

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Hey guys!

Well it has been a fantastic week of shooting. I am soo excited about some of the projects and shoots that took place! Monday was ahhhmazing and spent with a total of 7 fabulous and talented women to create a vintage Editorial shoot and I am extra excited about sharing the results of that shoot!

Fall has treated me well so far. The colors, the leaves, the trees, that perfect golden hour … they all mix together for the perfect photo formula! I am so lucky to have a beautiful wedding tomorrow that will showcase all the beautiful colors outside right now and I can’t wait!

So. I wanted to talk a little bit about how I prepare for a wedding! I got an email a couple of weeks ago from an aspiring photographer who had some questions for me and one of the things he asked was how I prepare for a wedding. So I would love to share that answer publicly here and hope that it gives others a clear image of what should go into the preparation of an upcoming wedding. Let’s break it down!

THE WEEK BEFORE A WEDDING

– Taking excellent care of yourself – If I feel a cold coming on, I am downing the OJ like no one’s business and resting up. It’s important to take good care of yourself during the wedding season, because neither you or the bride & groom want a sick photographer!

-Cleaning your camera – I clean my sensor at least once a week, especially if I am anticipating a wedding on the weekend

-Scout the locations – During the week I take the time to scout specific locations I would like to use at the EXACT scheduled time that we would be there for photos.. In the past I have chosen an amazing location only to be disappointed when the sun is in the wrong spot to showcase what I wanted. Be aware of the sun and pinpoint the location to the time of day!

THE DAY BEFORE THE WEDDING

-Purchase/get ready the batteries for your flashes.

-Gas up your vehicle.

-Charge all of your batteries for both your primary camera and your backup camera

-Clean all your lenses

-Make sure you have your camera bag ready. For me this includes making sure my “wedding bag” is stocked with all the things I need.. mmm note to self: New blog post idea!

-DON’T eat anything spicy or anything that will cause gas the next day or um… other ugly tummy troubles. This is the LAST thing you want to deal with on a wedding day.

-Plan what to wear. Nothing too dressy, but nothing to casual. You need to be comfortable as to move around freely so keep this in mind.

-Chillax! Ain’t no body want an overworked photographer! Take this opportunity to pop in your favorite show and relax. Drink copious amounts of water and eat well.

-Go to bed early. Sleep is key. You have to be on your A-GAME the next day!

THE MORNING BEFORE A WEDDING

-Charge up your phone. It’s important to have a phone with you on the day of a wedding in case the bride/groom need to reach you, to check the time, check inspiration photos, or even click a few phone shots for Instagram.

-Format your memory cards – DO THIS EVERY TIME!! SERIOUSLY!

-Check and double check your bag to make sure all of your batteries are there, your memory cards and your flashes

-Go over your itinerary! If you don’t have one, that’s an issue for another blog post!! Memorize your clients names and make sure you know where to be at what time.

-Eat a healthy meal. This is important since it may be hours before your next one!

-Relax and listen to some easy going music. I personally love Agnus & Julia Stone and some Lana Del Ray

-Click through some inspiration photos of different poses you want to try or looks you want to achieve that day.

-Breath. Know that you are going to do a great job and have confidence.

Alright guys!! I hope this helps some of you to be better prepared for weddings!

On another note, I wanted to share some engagement photos that were done here in Saskatoon a few weeks ago! The couple, Brittany and Jason are both so amazing and when I met with them for the first time to book their wedding (This upcoming November!) we clicked immediately! I love their sense of humor and the love they share for dance. I am really excited to photograph their wedding in a couple of months and would like to share with you a few images from their engagement session with me 🙂

Stay Amazing,

Martine

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

Saskatoon Engagement Photography

bj12

Tell me what you think!