Family is #1 + 60 years of marriage

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

Family is and always will be number one to me. There are no exceptions and there is no other way I would have it. I think we all learn this at one point or another in our lives!

Recently, my grandparents celebrated their 60th anniversary… 60.. can you believe it? Better yet, can you imagine being married to your special someone for 60 years? I hope so. Marriage is about love, understanding and communication, but it’s not just that. It’s about building a community, a family and a bond with the others you bring into your life. It’s also HARD work. I think too many people bail on marriage too easily. They think it should be easy and should feel those sparks still flying 2, 3, 4, 5 years later but that’s just not realistic. You might lose the sparks, but what you gain is the comfort, security and ease of being yourself and knowing what you are coming home to.

I don’t consider myself the marrying type but if I was, I would look to my grandparents for inspiration. It has NOT always been easy for them. They have went through times of severe poverty, heart-ache, loss and tragedy. Throughout it all they have stuck together, stood by each other and came out on top. Now, even in the last 10 years I have seen their love for each other change! It used to be complacent, it used to be of responsibility and respect. It is still all of these things, but I now see a deeper bond that has developed between them in the last few years. They still have humor. They crack really corny jokes and share intimate moments. They understand each other more than anyone in the world and they can sense when the other is not feeling well or needs a nap. (To be fair I think that everyone needs a nap. In fact.. I should be taking one right now!). The point is, they have most definitely had struggles that could have torn some couples apart, but they persevered and now I believe they are happier than ever!

It seemed only natural that Grandpa’s guitar should come along. He has shared his gift and love for guitar with our family since as long as I can remember. It’s one of my favorite memories growing up. Not only that but he legitimately sings my Grandma songs with his guitar and that’s exactly what I asked him to do on the day of the shoot (which was the day of their 60th anniversary). Now that I think of it, I should have got Grandma to bring some buns and borscht and feed Grandpa because feeding people delicious food is most definitely her thing. I loved this whole shoot from start to finish and getting to see them in a whole new light with each other was refreshing. Their relationship and their testimony to marriage is constantly evolving and leaving the other marriages in my family a lot to live up to.

Love you Grandpa & Grandma!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

60 years of marriage!

Tell me what you think!

